New Jersey Career Connections is now on Facebook and Twitter! Follow us for news and advice for jobseekers, partners, and employers.
New Jersey Career Connections logo
print button

Adult Basic Education Program Directory

Atlantic/Cape May Counties

Lead Agency

Atlantic Cape Community College (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
1535 Bacharach Boulevard
Atlantic City, New Jersey 08401
Phone: 609-343-4713
Fax: 609-343-4708
Program Director: Barbara Kozek
Email: bkozek@atlantic.edu

Partners

Cape May County Technical School District (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
188 Crest Haven Road
Cape May Court House, New Jersey 08210
Phone: 609-465-2161 Ext. 642
Fax: 609-465-4399
Program Director: Susan Jurusz
Email: sjurusz@capemaytech.com

Literacy Volunteers / Cape-Atlantic, Inc. (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
743 North Main Street
Pleasantville, New Jersey 08232
Phone: 609-383-3377
Fax: 609-383-0234
Executive Director: Pam Grites
Email: lvapam@comcast.net

Pleasantville Board of Education (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
100 West Leeds Avenue
Pleasantville, New Jersey 08232-0960
Phone: 609-383-6878 Ext. 2360 (leave message)
Fax: 609-383-1260
Program Director: Lisa Stuart-Smith
Phone: 609-383-6878 Ext. 2360
Email: stuart-smith.lisa@pps-nj.us

Bergen County

Lead Agency

Bergen County Technical Schools (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
540 Fairview Avenue
Paramus, New Jersey 07652
Phone: 201-343-6000 (main #) (all AM/PM ESL and HSE classes are free)
Fax: 201-343-2653
Program Director: Paul Castiglia
Phone: 201-343-6000 Ext. 4090
Email: pcastiglia@bergen.org
Grant Manager: Diane Scarangella
Phone: 201-343-6000 Ext. 2213
Email: diasca@bergen.org
Program Manager:
Ghazala Nomani
Phone: 201-343-6000 Ext. 4638
Email: ghanom@bergen.org

Partners

Bergen County Community College (ABE/ESL/Civics)
Ciarco Learning Center
355 Main Street
Hackensack, New Jersey 07601
Phone: 201-301-9671, 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m., 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. (all classes free)
Fax: 201-968-9692
Program Director: Sandy Sroka
Email: sroka@bergen.edu
Project Director: Elizabeth DeFeo
Email: edefeo@bergen.edu

Greater Bergen Community Action, Inc. (ESL/Out of school youth HSE/Civics)
535 Midland Avenue
Garfield, New Jersey 07026
Phone: 973-685-0005 Ext. 7150
Fax: 973-546-2635
Program Director: Figen Tabakci
Phone: 973-685-0005 Ext. 1060
Email: figen.tabakci@greaterbergen.org

Burlington County

Lead Agency

Rowan College at Burlington County (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
Willingboro Center
200 Campbell Street
Suite 201
Willingboro, New Jersey 08046
Phone: 609-894-9311 Ext. 3016 (ABE/HSE) or press 0 for Operator
Fax: 609-877-5243
Program Director: Anthony Phillips
Phone: 609-894-9311 Ext. 3001
Email: arphillips@rcbc.edu
Program Coordinator: (Ruth) Valerie Hawkins or Jennifer Cleveland
Phone: 609-894-9311 Ext. 3024 
Email: rhawkins@rcbc.edu or jcleveland@rcbc.edu

Partners

Willingboro Adult School (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
Kennedy Center
429 JFK Way
Willingboro, New Jersey 08046
Phone: 609-479-9840 (ABE/ESL)
Fax: 609-835-3837
Program Director: Harold Shafer, Jr.
Phone: 609-479-9839
Email: hshafer@wboroas.net
Program Information Email:
Info@wboroas.net

Bordentown Regional School District (ABE/HSE/ESL/Civics)
318 Ward Avenue
Bordentown, New Jersey 08505
Phone: 609-298-0025
Fax: 609-298-6992
Program Director: Sandy Ewell
Phone: 609-298-0674 Ext. 1201
Email: sewell@bordentown.k12.nj.us

Literacy NJ - Burlington County Programs (ABE/ESL/HSE)
P.O. Box 2746
Willingboro, New Jersey 08046
Phone: 609-877-5566
Program Director: Sheryl Churchill
Email: schurchill@literacynj.org

Camden County

Lead Agency

Camden County College (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
200 North Broadway
Camden, New Jersey 08012
Phone: 856-968-1315
Fax: 856-756-0497
Program Director: Carol Dann
Phone: 856-968-1315
Program Specialist: Ileannexcis Vez
Email: ivelez@camdencc.edu

Partners

Camden City Public Schools (ABE/ESL)
201 North Front Street
Camden, New Jersey 08102-1935
Jerrothia Riggs Adult Education Center
1656 Kaighns Avenue
Camden, New Jersey 08103
Phone: 856-966-5223
Fax: 856-968-6740
Program Director: Timothy Jenkins
Email: tljenkins@camden.k12.nj.us

Housing Authority of the City of Camden (ABE/HSE)
721 Chelton Avenue
Camden, New Jersey 08104
Phone: 856-968-6198
Fax: 856-968-6175
Program Director: Gordon Palmer
Phone: 856-968-6198
Email: gpalmer@camdenhousing.org
Supervisor:
Kathryn Blackshear
Email: kblackshear@camdenhousing.org

Literacy Volunteers of America/Camden County (ABE/ESL)
203 Laurel Road
Voorhees, New Jersey 08043
Phone: 856-772-1636 Ext. 7331
Fax: 856-772-2761
Program Director: Shyamoli De
Email: sde@camdencountylibrary.org

Hispanic Family Center of South Jersey (ESL/Civics)
35-47 South 29th Street
Camden, New Jersey 08105
Phone: 856-963-0270
Fax: 856-338-0875
Executive Director: Mildred Mendez
Email: mmendez@hispanicfamilycenter.com

Cumberland/Salem Counties

Lead Agency

Salem County Vocational Technical School (ABS/ESL/HSE)
880 Route 45
P.O. Box 350
Woodstown, New Jersey 08098-0350
Phone: 856-769-0101
Fax: 856-769-3602
Program Director: Jennifer Bates
Phone: 856-769-0101 Ext. 5346
Email: jbates@scvts.org

Partners

Center for Human Services (ESL/Civics)
22 Washington Street
Bridgeton, New Jersey 08302
Phone: 856-575-0857
Fax: 856-575-0874
Program Director: Ruth Marshall or Danielle Bailey
Email: rmarshall@urc-chs.com or dbailey@urc-chs.com

Millville Public Library (ABE/ESL)
210 Buck Road
Millville, New Jersey 08332
Phone: 856-825-7087
Fax: 856-327-8572
Program Director: Irene Percelli
Email: Irenepe@clueslibs.org

Cumberland County College (ABE/HSE)
3322 College Drive
Vineland, New Jersey 08362
Phone: 856-691-8600 Ext. 359
Fax: 856-690-0812
Program Director: Patti Gilmore
Phone: 856-691-8600 Ext. 1378
Email: pgilmore@cccnj.edu

Pathstone Corporation
76 West Landis Avenue, Suite C
Vineland, New Jersey 08360
Phone: 856-696-1000
Program Director: E. Peeples
Email: epeeples@pathstone.org

Salem Community College
460 Hollywood Avenue
Carney’s Point, New Jersey 08069
Phone: 856-351-2651
Program Director: M. Hassler
Email: mhassler@salemcc.edu

Essex County

Lead Agency

Essex County College (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
Adult Learning Center
303 University Avenue
Newark, New Jersey 07102
Phone: 973-877-1894 (GED/ABS)
Fax: 973-877-3414
Program Director: Judith Celestin
Phone: 973-877-4435
Email: celestin@essex.edu

Partners

Literacy Volunteers of America - Essex and Passaic Counties (ABE/ESL/Civics)
Bloomfield Library
90 Broad Street
Bloomfield, New Jersey 07003
Phone: 973-566-6200 Ext. 217 or 225
Fax: 973-743-3525
Program Director: Cristhian Barcelos
Email: cbarcelos@lvaep.org

New Community Corporation (ABE/ESL/Pre-HSE/HSE/Civics)
Adult Learning Center
563 Orange Street
Newark, New Jersey 07107
Phone: 973-558-5536
Fax: 973-558-5538
Program Director: Cristhian Barcelos
Phone: 973-268-1236
Email: cbarcelos@newcommunity.org

Jewish Vocational Service (ABE/ESL/Pre-HSE/Civics)
111 Prospect Street
East Orange, New Jersey 07017
Phone: 973-674-6330 Ext. 295
Fax: 973-674-7858
Program Director: Lynn Sternstein
Email: lsternstein@jvsnj.org

Fresh Start Academy Alternative High School/Adult Basic Skills Center (East Orange School District) (ABE/ESL/HSE)
74 Halsted Street
East Orange, New Jersey 07018
Phone: 973-266-5645
Main Office: 973-266-5640
Fax: 973-266-5650
High School Administrator: Stephen Webb

Essex County Vocational Technical Schools (ABE/ESL/HSE)
91 West Market Street
Suite 425
Newark, New Jersey 07103
Phone: 973-412-2294
Fax: 973-624-0878
Program Director: John Dolan
Email: jdolan@essextech.org
Project Coordinator:
Andrew Turner
Email: aturner@essextech.org
Program Assistant:
Sondra Lubertazzi
Email: slubertazzi@essextech.org

FOCUS Hispanic Center for Community Development, Inc. (ABE/ESL/Civics)
441-443 Broad Street
Newark, New Jersey 07102
Phone: 973-624-2528
Fax: 973-624-6450
Program Director: Maritza Arauz
Phone: 973-624-2528 Ext. 109
Email: marauz@focus411.org
Program Coordinator: Ana Chavarria
Phone: 973-624-2528 Ext. 119
Email: achavarria@focus411.org

La Casa De Don Pedro, Inc. (ABE/ESL/Civics)
39 Broadway
Newark, New Jersey 07104
Phone: 973-481-4713 or 973-481-4568
Fax: 973-481-2448
Program Director: Rosalinda (Wendy) Melendez
Phone: 973-481-4713 or 973-481-4568 Ext. 3310
Email: wmelendez@lacasanwk.org
Project Coordinator: Johanna Murphy
Phone: 973-481-4713 or 973-481-4568 Ext. 3302
Email: jmurphy@lacasanwk.org

1199 SEIU Education Fund (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
117 Irvington Avenue
Lower Level
South Orange, New Jersey 07079
Phone: 973-275-6340
Fax: 973-275-6341
Program Director: Ellen Ray
Email: ellen.ray@1199funds.org

Gloucester County

Lead Agency

Rowan College at Gloucester County (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
1400 Tanyard Road
Sewell, New Jersey 08080
Phone: 856-468-5000 Ext. 6227
Fax: 856-415-7974
Program Director: Brigette Satchell
Phone: 856-468-5000 Ext. 6226
Email: bsatchel@rcgc.edu

Partners

Literacy New Jersey, Gloucester County Programs  (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
51 High Street
Westville, New Jersey 08093
Phone: 609-216-7529
Fax: 856-218-4749
Program Director: Rebecca Powers
Email: rpowers@LiteracyNJ.org

Hudson County

Lead Agency

Union City Adult Learning Center (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
400 38th Street
Union City, New Jersey 07087
Phone: 201-348-5658 for ABE/HSE classes
Fax: 201-348-5659
Program Director: Esmeralda Doreste-Roman
Phone: 201-348-5653
Email: edoreste@union-city.k12.nj.us
Program Coordinator: Morayma Moreda
Phone: 201-348-5661
Email: mmoreda@union-city.k12.nj.us

Partners

Jersey City Public Schools (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics) - Spanish HSE prep @ 193 Old Bergen Road
346 Claremont Avenue
Jersey City, New Jersey 07305
Phone: 201-915-6614 - Day classes
Fax: 201-915-6084
Program Director: Paula Christen
Phone: 201-915-6227
Email: pchristen@jcboe.org
Head Teacher:
Gilda Nicole Harris
Adult Education Programs
Phone: 201-915-6521 - Evening classes (M, Tu, W 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.)
Email: gharris@jcboe.org

Urban Workforce Advantage - (Hudson) (ABE/ESL/Civics) - no HSE prep
66 Elmora Avenue
Elizabeth, New Jersey 07202
Phone: 908-355-2299
Fax: 908-352-2931
Program Director: Julio Sabater
Email: jsabater@workforceadvantageusa.com

Hunterdon/Somerset Counties

Lead Agency

Hunterdon County Education Services Commission (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
8 Bartles Corner Road
Suite 205
Flemington, New Jersey 08822
Phone: 908-237-5000 or 908-526-8800 Ext. 6804
Fax: 908-237-0952
Program Director: Fran Leddy
Phone: 908-203-5092
Email: fleddy@hunterdonesc.org

Partners

Franklin Township Board of Education (ABE/ESL)
1755 Amwell Road
Somerset, New Jersey 08872
Phone: 732-249-6410
Program Director: Doris Stevens
Email: dstevens@franklinboe.org

The Jointure For Community Adult Education, Inc. (ESL/Civics)
1124 Route 202 South
Suite B-11
Raritan, New Jersey 08869
Phone: 908-722-0233
Fax: 908-722-0388
Program Director: Erica Cruz
Email: ecruz@jointure.org

Hunterdon Helpline (ABE/Civics)
14 Mine Street
Highway 31
Flemington, New Jersey 08822
Phone: 908-782-4357
Executive Director: Susan Lax
Email: executivedirector@helplinehc.org

Mercer County

Lead Agency

Mercer County Community College (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
James Kearney Campus
P.O. Box B
Adult Education Department
North Broad and Academy Streets
Trenton, New Jersey 08690
Phone: 609-570-3133
Fax: 609-570-3107
Program Director: Monica Weaver or Peg Gould
Phone: 609-570-3138
Email: weaverm@mccc.edu or gouldm@mccc.edu

Partners

Mercer Street Friends (ABE/HSE) - no ESL or Civics
222 North Hermitage Avenue
Trenton, New Jersey 08618
Phone: 609-278-6904
Fax: 609-599-2556
Program Director: Gay Egan
Email: gegan@mercerstreetfriends.org

Literacy Volunteers / Mercer County (ABE/ESL) - no HSE or Civics
3535 Quakerbridge Road
Suite 104
Hamilton, New Jersey 08619
Phone: 609-587-6027
Fax: 609-587-6137
Program Director: Catherine Mitch
Email: cmitch@literacynj.org

Princeton YWCA (ABE/ESL/Pre-HSE/Civics)
59 Paul Robeson Place
Princeton, New Jersey 08540
Phone: 609-497-2100
Fax: 609-497-1211
Program Director: Heledona Katro
Phone: 609-497-2100 Ext. 306
Email: hkatro@ywcaprinceton.org

Lutheran Social Ministries of NJ (ABE/Civics/Citizenship) - no HSE
189 South Broad Street
P.O. Box 30
Trenton, New Jersey 08601
Phone: 609-393-4900
Fax: 609-393-1111
Program Manager: Jane Kleindienst
Phone: 609-393-4900 Ext. 14
Email: jkleindienst@lsmnj.org

St. James AME Church
413 Summit Street
Hightstown, New Jersey 08520
Phone: 609-448-7855
Email: stjhightstown@gmail.com

Trenton Area Soup Kitchen (TASK)
72 ½ Escher Street
Trenton, New Jersey 08605
Phone: 609-695-5456
Program Contact: J. Steinhauer
Email: jsteinhauer@trentonsoupkitchen.org

Middlesex County

Lead Agency

New Brunswick Board of Education (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics) - Spanish HSE
268 Baldwin Street
2nd Floor
New Brunswick, New Jersey 08901-2947
Phone: 732-745-5300, press 1 for English / 2 for Spanish - then press 4 for ABE/HSE
Fax: 732-745-5325
Principal/Program Director: Timothy Timberlake
Phone: 732-745-5300 Ext. 4104 (followed by # sign)
Email: timothy_timberlake@nbps.k12.nj.us

Partners

East Brunswick Board of Education (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
760 Route 18 North
East Brunswick, New Jersey 08816-3095
Phone: 732-613-6989
Fax: 732-254-7864
Program Director: Stephen Decker
Email: sdecker@ebnet.org

Perth Amboy Board of Education (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics) - Spanish HSE AM, PM, and Saturday
178 Barracks Street
Perth Amboy, New Jersey 08861-3402
Phone: 732-376-6240 Ext. 31410
Fax: 732-826-3686
Director of Continuing Education: Luke Miller
Email: lmiller@paps.net

South River Board of Education (ABE/ESL/Civics) - no HSE
3 Montgomery Street
South River, New Jersey 08882
Phone: 732-613-4073 or 732-642-4759
Fax: 732-698-9305
Program Director: Nicole Yorek
Email: nyorek@srivernj.org

Monmouth County

Lead Agency

Brookdale Community College (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
765 Newman Springs Road
Lincroft, New Jersey 07738-1543
Phone: 732-224-2602
Fax: 732-224-2664
Program Director: Linda Roma
Email: lroma@brookdalecc.edu

Partners

Community Affairs & Resource Center (ABE/ESL)
913 Sewall Avenue
Asbury Park, New Jersey 07712
Phone: 732-774-3282
Fax: 732-229-5727
Program Director: Beatriz Oesterheld
Email: boesterheld@carcnj.org

Ladacin Network (ABE/ESL) - no HSE or Civics
1703 Kneeley Boulevard
Wanamassa, New Jersey 07712
Phone: 732-493-5900
Fax: 732-493-5980
Program Director: Celeste Smith
Email: celeste.smith@ladacin.org

Monmouth County Vocational School District (ABE/ESL) - no HSE
400 Kozloski Road
Freehold, New Jersey 07728
Phone: 732-229-3019 or 732-431-6292
Fax: 732-229-5727
Program Director: Dana Schaed
Email: dana_schaed@mcvsd.org

Literacy Volunteers / Monmouth County (ABE/ESL) - no HSE
213 Broadway
Long Branch, New Jersey 07740
Phone: 732-229-8440 Ext. 1515
Fax: 732-571-2474
Program Director: Rebecca Lucas
Email: lvmonmouth@brookdalecc.edu

Morris/Sussex/Warren Counties

Lead Agency

Morris County Vocational School District (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
400 East Main Street
Denville, New Jersey 07834
Phone: 973-627-4600 (ABE/ESL/HSE Ext. 279)
Fax: 973-627-1685
Program Director: Mike Gowdy - Ext. 244
Email: gowdym@mcvts.org

Partners

Sussex County Community College (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
1 College Hill
Newton, New Jersey 07860
Phone: 973-300-2158
Fax: 973-300-2156
Program Director: Sarah Gorst
Email: sgorst@sussex.edu

Warren County Technical School (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
1500 Route 57 West
Washington, New Jersey 07882-9801
Phone: 908-835-2480
Fax: 908-689-7699
Program Director: Maria Heaton
Email: mheaton@rcn.com

Ocean County

Lead Agency

St. Francis Community Center (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
4700 Long Beach Boulevard
Brant Beach, New Jersey 08008
Phone: 609-494-8861 Ext. 185
Fax: 609-361-9653
Director of Educational Services: Karen Gesicki
Phone: 609-494-8861 Ext. 141
Email: kgesicki@stfrancislbi.org
Administrative Assistant: Scott Sarno
Phone: 609-494-8861 Ext. 143
Email: ssarno@stfrancislbi.org

Partners/Site Use Only

St. Francis Education Center (HSE/ESL)
1166 River Avenue
Lakewood, New Jersey 08701

Southern Regional School District (ABE/ESL/Civics)
105 Cedar Bridge Road
Manahawkin, New Jersey 08050

Toms River North High School (ABE/ESL)
1245 Old Freehold Road
Toms River, New Jersey 08753

Lakewood Community Center
20 4th Street
Lakewood, New Jersey 08701

Raise Program (HSE)
155 Sunset Avenue
Toms River, New Jersey 08754

Lakewood Library
301 Lexington Avenue
Lakewood, New Jersey 08701

Passaic County

Lead Agency

Paterson Public School (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics) - Spanish HSE
151 Ellison Street
Paterson, New Jersey 07505
Phone: 973-321-0761/HSE info. 973-321-0763
Fax: 973-321-0391
Program Director: Susan Ronga
Phone: 973-321-0763
Email: sronga@paterson.k12.nj.us

Partners

Passaic County Community College (ABE/ESL/Civics) - no HSE prep
One College Boulevard
Passaic, New Jersey 07505
Phone: 973-684-6136
Fax: 973-523-6085
Program Assistant Director: Leo Kazan
Phone: 973-684-4828
Email: LKazan@pccc.edu
Additional Program Contact: Isabella Planco
Phone: 973-684-3753

Passaic County Technical Institute (ABE/ESL/Civics) - no HSE prep
45 Reinhart Road
Wayne, New Jersey 07470
Phone: 973-389-4100
Fax: 973-389-2044
Program Director: John DePalma
Email: jdepalma@pcti.tec.nj.us

Passaic Board of Education (ABE/ESL/Civics) - no HSE prep
101 Passaic Avenue
Passaic, New Jersey 07055
Phone: 973-470-5560/5503
Fax: 973-470-8984
Program Director: Mayra Silva
Email: msilva@passaicschools.org

Literacy Volunteers/Passaic and Essex Counties (ABE/ESL)
Passaic Public Library
195 Gregory Avenue
Passaic, New Jersey 07055
Phone: 973-470-0039
Program Director: Cristhian Barcelos
Email: cbarcelos@lvaep.org

Statewide Provider

Lead Agency

New Jersey Department of Corrections
Office of Educational Services
Whittlesey Road
P.O. Box 863
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0863
Phone: 609-292-4039 Ext. 5318
Fax: 609-777-4143
Program Director: Hugh DeHaven
Email: Hugh.Dehaven@doc.state.nj.us

Union County

Lead Agency

Union County College (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
40 West Jersey Street
Elizabeth, New Jersey 07202
Main Recruiting Phone: 908-659-5114
Fax: 908-965-6010
Email: cewd-recruiting@ucc.edu
Program Director: Marlene Moreira-Loff - 908-527-7243
Email: mloff@ucc.edu
Civics Director: Mayra Acosta
Phone: 908-527-7242
Email: acosta@ucc.edu
Finance:
Shirley Hollie-Davis
Phone: 908-965-6022
Email: holliedavis@ucc.edu

Partners

Urban Workforce Advantage (Union) (ABE/ESL/Civics) - no HSE prep
49 Broad Street
2nd Floor
Elizabeth, New Jersey 07202
Phone: 908-355-2288
Fax: 908-352-2931
Program Director: Julio Sabater
Email: jsabater@workforceadvantageusa.com

Elizabeth Board of Education (ABE/ESL/HSE)
500 North Broad Street
Elizabeth, New Jersey 07202
Phone: 908-436-5267
Fax: 908-436-5280
Program Director: Rosa Carbone
Phone: 908-436-5267
Email: carbonro@elizabeth.k12.nj.us

Literacy Volunteers - Union County Affiliate, Inc. (ABE/ESL/HSE/Civics)
121-125 Chestnut Street
Suite 203
Roselle, New Jersey 07203
Phone: 908-486-1777
Fax: 908-754-0063
Program Director: Barbara Hathaway
Email: bhathaway@literacynj.org